Link to South African Governement Covid-19 portal

The Constitution

The Motor Ferry Industry Bargaining Council of South Africa (“MFIBC”) was registered with the Department of Labour on 28 May 2003 under reference LR 2/6/6/152 to cater for the niche industry of motor ferry. Since then the constitution of the MFIBC has been amended on a few occasions and further amendments are currently being considered by the MFIBC. As soon as the amendments have been adopted by the Council and registered by Department of Labour, the document will be uploaded to the website.

The Scope

The scope of the MFIBC is “the motor ferry industry means an industry concerned with the transportation of motor vehicles by road, whether by vehicle carrier or own wheels to and from Vehicle Manufacturers, harbours, rail, storage depots, dealers and third parties”

The Parties

The current parties to the MFIBC are the Association of Mining and Construction Union (“AMCU”), the South African Transport and Allied Workers Union (“SATAWU”) and the South African Motor Ferry Association (“SAMFA”). The members of SAMFA are Motorvia, VDS, Trucklogix, Grindrod and KDG Logistics.

The Main Collective Agreement

The Main Collective Agreement was published by Government Notice in Government Gazette No. 36469 of 17 May 2013 and was extended to non-parties. The extension has since lapsed. A new wage agreement was adopted in July 2017, which agreement will remain in force until 31 December 2018. The parties to the MFIBC are currently in negotiations to conclude a new wage agreement. As soon as a new wage agreement has been adopted, the MFIBC will apply to the Minister to have the Main Collective Agreement extended to non-parties in terms of section 32(1) of the Labour Relations Act, 66 of 1995 (“LRA”), as amended.

Developer Image